PDA

View Full Version : Time to move up?

skaboomizzy
06-27-2004, 01:29 AM
After a 8-9 day span that's been more successful than I ever dreamed, I've gone from about $50 to $660 at Stars. I know that kind of growth isn't the norm, so I have no delusions about turning this into $10K anytime soon. /images/graemlins/smile.gif

SNGs are my primary thing as opposed to ring games. My question is should I move up to $20+2s, or hang around $10+1 some more? The reason I'm posting here is that I've played against a bunch of you numerous times, and y'all are really in the best position to critique my game. Are the 20s much tougher than the 10s? Should I maybe stick around the 10s until I get to $850 or so?

Disclaimer: I'm not a pro or even semi-pro at this point... I guess I'm more of a "serious hobbyist". I have a full-time job and only play a few hours a night during the week, and save my playing binges for the weekends. Maybe that would affect your thoughts on my variance.

DrPhysic
06-27-2004, 02:19 PM
Skaboomizzy,

I find little difference in toughness between $10 and $20. I am playing more on party which may make some difference, however, William keeps telling me that there is little or no difference at any level below $100. I think you can easily move up with 30+ buyins in your bankroll as long as you set a number at which you drop back. ie: if you start with $650, decide when you move up that if you drop back to 60% ie: $400, you go back to the next lower level, until you learn more or build it back up, then do it again. I have moved up to $30 twice, and had to drop back both times.

Opinion for what it's worth. I am as you know an SNG guy at a somewhat similar level to where you are.

Doc

PrayingMantis
06-27-2004, 02:31 PM
[ QUOTE ]
Should I maybe stick around the 10s until I get to $850 or so?

[/ QUOTE ]