PDA

View Full Version : Righty Tighty, Lefty Loosey

Mayhap
06-23-2004, 10:38 AM
I'm new to poker and trying to learn as much as I can as fast as I can. I play hold em and notice that if I strictly adhere to Sklansky's hand groupings by position I ...
1. Pretty much insure a profitable session every time.
2. Don't play very many hands at all.
3. FEEL (yes, I only play on line) that people are annoyed with me.
4. Don't get much action when I play.
5. Have people do wild raising on me when I limp.
Therefore I found I need to change my image; to un-rock as it were and remain profitable.
So here is how I go about it. What I'm looking for is feedback on what I'm doing right/wrong and any extra ideas you might
have.
1. When there are consistently few pre-flop raises; I loosen up on my starting requirements up front.
2. I see the flop with just about any reasonable hand when I'm unraised in late postion.

Just doing these things seems to erase my 'destestable rock' image even though I still get to fold a lot of hands.

Are there ways to expand/improve on this?
Any cautions?

Thanks,

/Mayhap

pudley4
06-23-2004, 12:01 PM
[ QUOTE ]
I'm new to poker...

[/ QUOTE ]

[ QUOTE ]
Any cautions?

[/ QUOTE ]

Don't make changes until you're sure you're a winning player.

Mayhap
06-23-2004, 12:08 PM
TY Jeff
/M

IlliniRyRy
06-23-2004, 12:12 PM
Your image is practically meaningless in low limit games, forget about that. The fact that other people are raising you all the time when you limp or folding when you raise is all just an illusion. Nobody pays attention, they're not that receptive, trust me. Just play premium hands and don't bother bluffing, they'll pay you off.

Mayhap
06-23-2004, 12:32 PM
TY Sir
/M

sthief09
06-23-2004, 12:34 PM
1. Pretty much insure a profitable session every time.

impossible

2. Don't play very many hands at all.