PDA

View Full Version : First Post/ One Hand/ Thoughts Appreciated

deeper
06-22-2004, 11:14 AM
Hello,

I'm new to post. I've been reading for a few weeks. I'm a well read player with about a year of semi-serious experience. I'm really trying to improve. Here are some hands from a online $150 buy-in multi last night.

Early in the tourny.

Blinds still 10, 20.

I'm at 1885, up from 1000. Two other players at the table have me covered, one at 3000+ and the other at 2200.

UTG+1 (1790)limps, MP limps (3160),

I have Ah6h and I limp.

Is this a justifiable play? I figured that it was early in the tourny and for a small % of my chips I may catch a big hand. But should I have raised?

The action continues:

Directly to my left (2200)raises to 150.

It folds to me. At this point in the tourny I didn't have a great read on this player. He had gained most of his chips playing AA UTG+1 where he limped and reraised all-in. I imagined his range of hands was 10/10 to A/A, AK, AQ, KQ. Regardless, I was willing to gamble less than 10% of my chips here, for a chance at a big hand if he had a non-ace pair, or if i hit the flush. I took the flop.
Does anyone hate this call?

Flop, 4d7h5h, giving me 15, or 18 outs if he has a pair lower than aces or KQ.

I liked my hand, but didn't want to call all-in (which I was afraid he would put me to, if he had an overpair), so I moved all in, forcing him to make the decision.

Was this a correct play in terms of risk/reward.

<font color="white"> </font>

He took full time and eventually folded.

Was this too conservative of a play in the early stages of a tourny? Should I have at least check raised here?

MLG
06-22-2004, 11:34 AM
Taking the hand decision by decision: