PDA

View Full Version : Something went terribly wrong - but what?

twang
06-21-2004, 05:44 PM
I'm not sure if this is the right section to post this - feel free to direct me elsewhere.

First some short background.

I began playing about six months ago. I lost a few minimum deposits at Party before I decided I had to learn the game or quit. So I studied. I also began playing super-micro instead of .5/1. This was two months ago btw.

Things went well and I climbed the levels from 0.05/0.1 to 2/4. I turned my initial $24 deposit into $900 in a little more than one months time. That might sound fast, I don't know, but let me assure you that I have put in the the hours - my butt has gone flat like a desktop from sitting in front of the screen.

About three weeks ago things started to get ugly. I was now playing 2/4 about 80% of the time, 1/2 the rest. I started sliding slowly and this went on up until this very minute. My BR is down to $450 and I am back playing 0.5/1.

Since I began at the supermicros I have encountered a couple of 80 BB downswings that I have turned around in a few days, but not anything like this one.

The problem is that I have no idea what so ever what went wrong. "Moving up too fast" or "First month was a huge lucky streak" should be the obvious answers, but I don't know...As far as I can see 2/4 (Pacific btw) is not much different than 0.5/1; it's basically a moron fest, people cold-calling three bets with Q4o and stuff like that. As for the lucky streak....45-50 days, 5 - 6 hours a day of steady winning should mean something, shouldn't it? It is not enough to prove without a doubt that I am a solid player, I know, but it is still quite a long time.

So where do I go from here? I am sure this downslide is a combo of bad play from my side and regular bad beats. The problem is that I can't find the big and obvious leak(s). I am sure they are there, but to me it just seems like I am stuck in 2nd best hand zone.

Sorry about the whining/rambling.