PDA

View Full Version : Pot Odds, Flush Draw, and being berated

SnowDog
06-20-2004, 09:59 AM
I'm relatively new to poker, having played recreationally every once in a while over the past few years, but diving into it as a hobby in the past six months or so. I've read some books, played some free online, and finally started playing microlimits on Royal Vegas (prima) with some free money they gave me for signing up.

For a change of pace, I entered a .75+.25 NLHE SNG yesterday. I realize this isn't helping me learn fixed limit holdem, but it's fun every once in a while for a different experience.

In this tournament, everyone is given T1000 to start. I'm down to around T900, and one person is out. In mid-late position, I get dealt A/images/graemlins/club.gif 2/images/graemlins/club.gif. I limp in (blinds are 20/40), and so do 4 other people (200 in pot) including the blinds.

Flop comes 7/images/graemlins/club.gif 6/images/graemlins/heart.gif K/images/graemlins/club.gif
It's checked to the Villain, who bets 200 (of his roughly T900 stack). I've got the nut flush draw and an overcard, so I decide to call. Everyone else folds.

Turn comes A/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, and Villain goes All In. At this point, I don't have the flush but I do have top pair and feel good about calling since I feel like he's just trying to scare me out -- he can't be that sure he has a winner unless he has AK. I'm willing to take that risk. We're both all in now (more or less -- he's got 50 coming back to him).

Cards get turned over; he's got a K/images/graemlins/spade.gif Q/images/graemlins/heart.gif. He's got second pair, good kicker, but no real draw.

River comes 10/images/graemlins/spade.gif and I win the pot with Aces.

Lucky, sure, but not like I won with 2s full of 7s or something. But this guy just starts berating me.

Villain: "Unbelievable!!"
Villain: "What could you possibly have been thinking??"
Me: "Excuse me?"