PDA

View Full Version : When to quit

Greeksquared
06-19-2004, 03:54 AM
I am writing this because I really think I need to quit playing...and I want to tell my story..maybe this will make me feel better. I have only been playing since March of this year and have played alot. I graduated college in December and am going back to school in the fall for a graduate degree. So, I had alot of time on my hand. I majored in math and naturally found poker interesting. I began to read and research online for many hours. I read alot about poker before I was ready to put my money up for grabs. I started out by playing the low limit on pacific poker because I thought that would be the easiest. I did not fare so well and lost my 100 bucks rather quickly. I then decided to move my money to party poker and get their free bonus of 100 bucks. I started playing NL with my free 100 and did very well. I mainly played ring games and sometimes the $10 sngs. I moved almost straight up to a bankroll of 2400 in just a couple of months. I almost never had a losing streak. I had begun to play the 50 sngs on party and had done well on those too. But, this is where the story ends. My bankroll has now gone down..way down. Im now down to 1200. It just seemed like I had the most unbelievable horrible luck. The absolute craziest bad beats would haunt me over and over and over again. People were crushing my big pairs with sets. I did not change my style of play, I just got beat continuously. I really don't win anymore. If I play 3 hours of ring games and make 12 bucks I am so happy now....just that I havent lost. Everytime I make a little money I just give it right back. So..anyways..I am thinking of quitting. But I know I am good at this game...unless my initial near flawless run was all luck. I did not get that many bad beats at all during my first two months. Maybe now is normal..just lots of bad beats. I rarely slow play and still get beat badly. It just seems so hard to make any money. I am just