PDA

View Full Version : how bad a play or a good steal tactic

10-25-2001, 09:13 PM
2 limpers in mid position too me in BB with j/t off. Flop is

A/K/3, no flush possible.

Both players are reasonably good players with decent starting hand requirements. First player bets next player raises to me, I make it 3 bets.

I did this because they both have respect for my game and at least one did not have a Ace. I figured one for a A/10 and the other for a pocket pair trying to get a cheap river. If ythey do not improve they will fold on the turn or river when I bet into them, plus I have a gut shot, not counting on this though.

Turn is the Q, I bet it he 2 bets me other player folds I make it three bets and he calls, he calls the river also when a 9 comes.

He turned over A/K off and whipped his cards.

I have some background, player in at river has been running bad, but still plays well and he had chips in front fo him so he wasn't going all in no matter what cards came.

1. Isn't this the reason that a/k off should always be raised?

2. Is the 3 bet on the flop that bad if the players have respect for you?

3. all comments and critics are welcome ( I know they are out there)

Swiss Cheese

10-25-2001, 09:33 PM
1. This is ONE reason to raise with AK. There are other reasons such as, getting more money in the pot, trying to get better position, lowering opponents implied odds etc..

2. When there is a raise you are almost sure to be beaten in one spot. The problem is that you need a major parlay to happen here: You need them BOTH to have hands they are likely to be able to lay down, then you need them BOTH to actually do it. Yes you do have 4 outs, but these kind of plays will be better used when you have all kinds of outs. If you have enough outs it can be correct to try these plays even if there is a tiny chance they'll fold. But in this case it sounds like a pretty bad approach to me- much too low a percentage play to end up profitable in the long run.