PDA

View Full Version : SNG Thoughts...Playing big hands early on in EP

Greeksquared
06-10-2004, 02:24 PM
I have been playing poker now for about 4 months online. I have read a great deal from researching and reading online sites such as this one and have now decided its my turn to post.... Here are my general thoughts on playing early on in these tourneys and in early position..assuming a 50 dollar sng on party..or even ten or twenty..they all play the same

During the first few levels I like to play hands that can become monsters..I trash AQ and below if im not close to the button and sometimes AK. AK is the riskiest hand early on IMO. For example..If you raise 3x the blinds none of the limpers will fold and then even if an ace or king flops you might not have the best hand and you probably cant let it go. Perhaps you raise more with AK and get one or two callers and an ace doesnt fop...do you bet the pot? Usually this takes it down...but is it worth the risk...

OK now for AA and KK
I always limp in with these hands in EP and hope to get raised and then i reraise to all-in. You will get called alot with garbage like KT and 77 and if you dont get called then you are still alive and pick up a small pot. In early position you might get 4 or 5 callers even if you raise 5 or 6 times the blind...this way it prevents you from losing all your chips to a set. If you dont get raised PF then you will almost always fold if you dont hit a set. This is probably hard to do for most people but is a must. This strategy also simplifies the playing early on...no real thinking here. Just be prepared to lose 20 percent of the time.