PDA

View Full Version : Do I need to move?

05-12-2002, 02:45 PM
I live in Norwalk, CT.

OK, so I'm not a professional hold'em player. There. I said it. I have a JOB (can I say that here without getting booted off?).

But I do pretty well for myself, both in business and at the tables.

And there's the problem. Which "tables?" Oh yeah--the top of the heap 15/30 and 20/40 tables at Foxwoods and Mohegan.

For hold'em up here, that's as big as it gets. The Taj, as much as I like making the trip, is a fairly major undertaking.

I want to play $30/$60 with an eye toward moving up from there. But that's not within the realm of possibility BASED ON MY KNOWLEDGE OF POKER IN THE AREA.

Do I need to move? Or do I need to play $75/$150 HOSE at Foxwoods and sit out the majority of the time?

Who am I kidding? That's too high even if it were just hold'em.

And no, I don't have romantic visions of Joey Knish's place and all of that. I'm just trying to find a game that doesn't feel like I'm killing time.

05-12-2002, 03:28 PM
I have had the same problem, in the same part of the world, from time to time.

I do not love poker, I love playing. The 10-20 game downtown for instance, is for people who don't know how to play.

Really, I would rather give it my best shot and lose to someone better, than screw around making rent at $15-$30.

It seems the reason fish play in CT, is to gamble. They hold out hope they might make a score.

I suspect, and this is just a guess, that in some super-high games in Vegas, people like to play.

I sometimes wonder, is there not a less-volatile game than hold'em, razz perhaps, which does not need to be so volatile, and allow any two cards to win?

Somewhere, there are people who play, even though they don't think any two cards can win. Paradise 10-20 is fun, but it is still 10-20.

You are killing time, but that's better than starting life over in The Garden of Eden.

eLROY

05-12-2002, 03:51 PM