PDA

View Full Version : Flop raising for free card with draw or overcards (Beginner Tutorial)

RED_RAIN
06-06-2004, 02:44 PM
I have come to conclusion that I think maybe some of the beginners (I am no expert) could benefit from.

You hear a lot that you should raise for a free card when you have the ace high flush draw or straight draw on the flop. This not always true.

Let's look at some situations.
Let's consider no preflop raise.

We will put ourselves on the button.
If it's checked around to the CO who bets, say there are two or three others between you and the CO, this is a spot where it would be wrong for you to raise for your flush draw. If you raise you will be paying 1 BB to possibly get heads up with the CO. If you just call and if even one person inbetween calls the CO's bet, yes you may pay 1.5 BBs on the flop and turn but when you hit your flush you will make more overall.

Now when would we raise for a free card?

Let's say we are back on the button. The SB or BB bets, we get 2-3 callers before you, this is the time to raise, we are pretty sure no one will fold here and would love to see the turn and river for free.
Another situation is where we have position and there was a raise preflop (by us), we hold over cards of AKo or AQs (you choose something), we miss the flop totally, there are only 2 other people in the hand, we flop a flush draw with over cards too, no matter who bets in front of us, we want to raise for our free card, then look at dumping if we are just looking at overcards on the flop on the turn.

I just all to often hear no matter what go for your free card when I think sometimes it's better to call to make more money overall.

I think my logic is sound but perhaps I can be shown it's wrong.

Chiefs Fan
06-06-2004, 03:55 PM
I agree it is important to be selective when you're using this tactic, some people don't use it enough and some use it too often.