PDA

View Full Version : Why the mathematically correct play isn't always the best play

DrewOnTilt
06-05-2004, 12:36 AM
I direct this post to those of you who are new to tournaments. I am a newbie and would like to share with other newbies a lesson that I learned the hard way today.

Good poker players will tell you that the mathematically correct play isn't always the best play. A good example of such a situation can be found in Chip Reese's introduction in Super / System. Although I've read this many times, I can't seem to get it through my thick skull.

Today while on the bubble in an SNG, I was dealt a big pocket pair. I threw in a hefty raise and got one caller. The flop was two suited (clubs) but low and unsequenced.

Feeling confident and cocky, I pushed all-in. The caller would fold, for sure, especially if he were on a flush draw. As it turns out, he had AK of clubs, and he called my allin. The river brought a club, and I busted out.

This would not have been a bad play on my part were it not for the fact that I had developed tunnel vision and had ignored that the shortest stack was down to 2 big bets and was likely to bust out on the next hand. In fact, he did bust out on the next hand, but then took time to thank me personally for busting out ahead of him and sending him into the money.

I figure that the caller on this hand was about a 1.5:1 dog to make either a flush or an overpair. I had the advantage, and my play was not incorrect from a purely mathematical point of view. Nonetheless, it was a moronic play. A better play would have been to make a good sized bet at the flop and turn and then check/fold on the river.

Lesson learned the hard way: when poker authors and the experienced players on these boards say that there are other factors to be considered besides the two cards in your hands, HEED THE ADVICE.

I hereby nominate myself for booby prize of the week. Anyone second my nomination?

Peter Harris
06-05-2004, 05:34 AM
seconded.