PDA

View Full Version : 1st Vegas NL tournament

MarlinHooker
06-04-2004, 05:05 PM
I've been playing small buy-in NL tournaments for about 11 months (36 total with 5 final tables). Last week I had my first opportunity to play in a $40, single add-on NL event in Vegas (at the Sahara) and I have several questions. Buy-in got you $1500 in chips with a $20 add-on any time during the first hour for $1500 more. Blinds started at 25/25 and rose every 20 mins. 132 players initally

1. During the 1st hour I had Q6s in the BB. An agressive (but solid) player limps in the middle as does the button, I check. The flop comes A,K of my suit plus 2 of spades. I check & the guy in the middle bets $1000 which represents 30% of my stack. I assume he was betting the Ace (or King) and didn't want anyone on a draw hanging around. What should I have done?

2. With 4 tables left, blinds at 1000/2000 & I'm on the buttom with 8000 holding A9 hearts. One guy in early position limps in and everyone folds to me. I move in over the top for 6000. The guys calls me leaving him about 4000 with what turns out to be QJos. Did he make a bad call?
3. This was my first rebuy event. Given that in addition to the one optional re-buy for everyone in the first hour and the fact that they let players buy back into the tournament if they went broke AFTER their rebuy, what should my playing style have been during the "add-on period"

I ended up finishing 32nd in the event. Everyone's comments would be welcome.

Ken

jn110
06-04-2004, 06:31 PM
1. You didn't mention the blinds at this point, but I'm guessing the pot couldn't have been more than 400 or so, making his 1000 bet a huge overbet. I fold quickly in this spot, unless it's a multi-rebuy, in which case I push and pull out some rebuy money.