PDA

View Full Version : Unsettling Bot News

Kevroc
06-01-2004, 06:07 PM
A friend of mine returning from the WSOP told me that during one of the breaks he sat down with one of the pros who stated that online poker's time is short. He said that because of people that devolop "bots" to play for them, playing optimum strategy and busting out all the humans...

You've all heard this before, now i'm no professional but, I do enjoy playing online and have played over a year on my initial deposit and would like to keep it that way. Can some of the 2+2 crew give me some encouraging words please?!

BreakEvenPlayer
06-01-2004, 06:13 PM
All of the posters on 2+2 are bots that are programmed into making everyone believe that online poker is safe. They also try and promote playing styles which are clearly unprofitable.

If I was you I would cash everything out right now, you obviously know little about the bots.

Kevroc
06-01-2004, 06:17 PM
Okay, haha very funny, I knew I'd hear some of that from you guys but, I do obviously know little about the bots. I read a post along time ago saying that it can't happen. Its just hearing it again from my friend that bothered me. /images/graemlins/frown.gif

I take the sarcasm as a good thing however and if anyone else has something to add, I would appreciate it!

Peter Harris
06-01-2004, 06:20 PM
What is a bot?

A program that plays to an optimal strategy.

What is an optimal strategy?
An impossible utopia.

There is no best playing style for a table, and a bot would have to be very well programmed to adjust to it.

After all, as MANY people here have said before, if i sat down with a list of hard-and-fast rules on what hands i play in what position, how to bet and when with what hands etc. etc., then i am essentially a bot.

There are, at times, 30000 players on Party. If there are 300 individually well programmed bots playing now in the world i would be flabbergasted.