PDA

View Full Version : Would you have gotten involved/shut down?

KHALI
06-01-2004, 12:28 PM
I am new to poker since Christmas but I am trying to get better by reading books and these posts. A situation I find myself in quite often is playing a middle pair and getting called all the way by a slightly better middle pair who never raises for afterwards obvious reasons. How do you decide when to stay at your opponent and when to shut down. See example below where I obviously went too far? What mistakes did I make? Should I even have gotten involved here?

> -----------------------------------------------------
> (Level V, Game #4) - 50/100 No Limit Texas Hold'em -
> Table "Culpepper" ($10 tournament) -- Seat 9 is the button
> Seat 2: khali (3,000.00 in chips)
> Seat 5: utg (1,890.00 in chips)
> Seat 7: utg+1 (1,740.00 in chips)
> Seat 9: button (1,610.00 in chips)
> Seat 10: smallblind (1,760.00 in chips)
> douglas.t: Post Small Blind (50)
> Khali127: Post Big Blind (100)
> Dealing...
> Dealt to Khali [ 8h ]
> Dealt to Khali[ Jc ]
> utg: Fold
> utg+1: Fold
> button: Call (100)
> smallblind: Fold
> Khali: Check
> *** FLOP *** : [ 3h 3s 8s ]
> Khali: Bet (240)
> button: Call (240)
> *** TURN *** : [ 3h 3s 8s ] [ 7h ]
> Khali: Bet (400)
> button: Call (400)
> *** RIVER *** : [ 3h 3s 8s 7h ] [ Qh ]
> Khali: Bet (400)
> button: Call (400)
> *** SUMMARY ***
> Pot: 2,330 | Board: [ 3h 3s 8s 7h Qh ]
> Khali lost 1,140 (showed hand) [ 8h Jc ] (two pair, eights and
threes)
> button bet 1,140, collected 2,330, net +1,190 (showed hand) [ 9d 9h ]
(two pair, nines and threes)

Any input is appreciated as this has happened almost exactly the same on numerous occasion(10's versus J's, J's versus Q's etc).

La Brujita
06-01-2004, 12:38 PM
Welcome to the forum. For what its worth I play it like this, bet about 150-200 on the flop, bet about 80% of the pot on the turn and check the river.