PDA

View Full Version : Stupid play to get knocked out in fourth?

edge
05-29-2004, 04:59 PM
Hi, first post and all that, and I'm still a newbie. I knocked myself out in fourth in two straight 5+0.50 SNGs with the exact same thing - betting all-in on the turn into an unlikely straight that was just made. In this one, my image is very tight, and when I do my standard preflop raise to 3xBB, I usually push the others out. I read the other guy for a low Ace in this hand.

PokerStars No-Limit Hold'em Tourney, Big Blind is t100 (4 handed)

UTG (t1590)
Button (t2460)
SB (t7520)
Hero (t1930)

Preflop: Hero is BB with A/images/graemlins/spade.gif, K/images/graemlins/club.gif.
UTG folds, Button calls t100, SB completes, Hero raises to t300, Button calls t200, SB folds.

Flop: (t700) 2/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, 9/images/graemlins/heart.gif, 7/images/graemlins/club.gif <font color="blue">(2 players) </font>
Hero checks, Button checks.

Turn: (t700) 5/images/graemlins/heart.gif <font color="blue">(2 players) </font>
Hero bets t1630 (All-In), Button calls t1630.

River: (t3960) T/images/graemlins/spade.gif <font color="blue">(2 players, 1 all-in) </font>

Final Pot: t3960

Results in white below: <font color="white">
Button shows 6s 8s (straight, ten high).
Hero shows As Kc (high card, ace).
Outcome: Button wins t3960. </font>

Should I have pushed on the flop, or just let this pot go and looked for a better spot?

C M Burns
05-29-2004, 06:06 PM
first b/c each person left has put money in the pot your raise should be bigger 4 or 500, you should be happy to take down a small pot at this point, with a hand that is only 50/50 to hit the flop more or less, you don't want garanteed calls.