PDA

View Full Version : Question from a newcomer to multitable tournaments

unc90
05-28-2004, 05:43 PM
Hi,
I'm new to this forum and had a couple of questions I was hoping someone could help me with.
I've been playing online (and when I go to Vegas) for roughly 2 years. I've kept an excel spreadsheet and have made good money over this time span and corrected alot of my mistakes (i.e. calling in early position w/K,Q, A,J, etc,...).
Where I'm having trouble at this point is w/multi table no limit tournaments. I just started playing this week in these types of tournaments. I've played 2 so far. Last night, there was a 589 person tournament at Ultimatebet.com and I finished 166th.
Where I lost big was on 2 particular hands.I raised preflop in late position w/AK. An A,K, 6 came out on the flop. I made a big bet and someone came over the top all in. I called w/ 2 pair. I just felt like I couldn't not call that bet. Well, the other person had a pair of 6's underneath. Did I make a mistake here? This didn't wipe me out but came darn close. I built my stack back up to roughly 1000 chips and I noticed when I was in the big blind, the big stack always raised me. Well, I had K,8 of diamonds. When he raised, I went all in and he called w/ a K, 4 (he was the big stack at the table). Wouldn't you know it, a 4 came out on the flop and I was out of the tournament in 166th place.
Today, I played in a 160 person NL tournament and finished 39th place. I played very conservative until blinds got to be 150-300. I had roughly 1000 chips left and went all in, in middle position w/ 10,10. Someone in late position called w/ 9,9. A 9 came out on the flop and I was done for again.
Am I making bad decisions or am I getting bad beats? I can't quite figure it out. 3 big losses in 2 tournaments has me wondering if my decision making has been correct.