PDA

View Full Version : Retire on SNGs? A ring player's fantasy.

Nak
05-28-2004, 02:44 AM
I am new to SNGs, but it seems that with just a little study and practice they can be very profitable. I consider myself a decent ring player, but I have been in a slump lately. Are SNGs the way to go?

Comments welcome.
Nak

Desdia72
05-28-2004, 09:59 AM
if you're already a decent ring game player, i could'nt really say that SNGs are the way to go as far as money goes. good ring game players online can make hundreds of dollars a day (some even thousands...depending on the limit). in order to make a lot of money in SNGs you have to consistently place in 1st and 2nd place which is hard to do.

let me give you an example. let's say you have $215 and want to try your luck at a Pokerstars $215 SNG. let's say you get 3rd place which pays $360 - your initial $215 entry fee= $145 profit. let's say you then take that original $215 and play four more $215 SNGs and place 3rd four more times. $145 profit per SNG x 5= $725 profit off your original $215 for a total of $940. not bad. but let's say you decide to play five more $215 SNGs and you don't cash in any of them. $940 (your original $215 + $725 in profit)- $1075 entry fees for the next five you don't cash in = -$135. so even though your hitting 50% ITM you've lost money.

now, contrast that with if all five of your cashes were 2nd place finishes. 2nd place pays $540 - $215 entry= $325 profit x 5= $1625 + original $215= $1840. then if you enter five more and don't cash $1840 - $1075= $765. so off your original $215 you now have $765 which is a $550 profit.

first place finishes are the best. $900 first place - $215= $685 profit x 5= $3425 + original $215= $3640 - $1075 (five more SNGs you did'nt cash in)= $2565. so off your original $215 you made $2350 in profit.

so whether you look at it from a lower limit or higher limit, the profitabilty in SNGs are in the top 2 spots.