PDA

View Full Version : To scared to raise

MrGo
05-27-2004, 09:15 AM
10-20 Party. I am new to tha table - only been there for aboue 20 minutes or so. I am in the BB. Folded to MP who raises, LP calls and I call with K /images/graemlins/club.gif J /images/graemlins/diamond.gif

Flop:

T /images/graemlins/heart.gifQ /images/graemlins/heart.gifA /images/graemlins/heart.gif

I flop the straight but I am scared of the flush, obviously.

I check, MP bets, call call.

Turn is a blank.

I check, bet, call - Here is where I went wrong. I feel a raise would have been a better play, but I didn't know anything about these players. I simply called.

River another blank. Check, bet, call and I call. I take it down.

This is a major leak in my game. I do not pump the pots when I have the best of it. I give my opponents too much credit for hands or for hands they COULD have.

Any thoughts/opinions are appreciated.

Noo Yawk
05-27-2004, 10:20 AM
Hi MrGo,

I think you already realize that a check raise was in order, as you don't want to lose to some little heart while you have the best hand. The bottom line is you need to get rid of the "scariest hand is there" or S.H.I.T mentality, or your going to be destined to a lifetime of showdown poker.
Some symptoms of S.H.I.T include:

1) Thinking AK is an overated hand.
2) Saying things Like "I never win with Aces or Kings."
3) Thinking Flush over Flush or set over set is likely.
4) Never betting a big hand for value because there is something scarier out there.
Etc., Etc.

The good news is there's a cure. Bet and raise your good hands, until your chips are falling off the table. Yeah, your going to lose a few, but you'll win a whole lot more and be able to read hands a whole lot better. There is a cure for most S.H.I.T. and as I like to say:
"same S.H.I.T, different play".

Good luck and don't forget to wipe.(wipe out the table of their chips that is). /images/graemlins/cool.gif

risen
05-27-2004, 01:13 PM