PDA

View Full Version : I Hate Poker Players

Lebronomania
05-21-2004, 03:44 PM
I play poker for a living, and have met some great people doing it. However, I've met even more people who are just nasty and brutish. Maybe its not that the people who play the game are inherently a-holes, but that the game makes 'em act like so. I'm convinced that poker brings out the worst in people, including myself. Its rare that I ever say an unkind word to another, yet when I'm playing, I can become impatient, intolerant, and mean.

Just reading the posts on this forum, everytime someone even suggests that internet poker might not be on the up and up, posters react like their mothers had been accused of being prostitutes. When someone posts 'bout a bad losing streak, the reaction is almost invevitably "you suck".

I worry everyday that this internet poker boom will soon fade and that I'll then have to get a real job again. My only consolation is that all this a-holery (new word) will come to an end, at least in the context of online poker.

P.S. GrannyMae...STFU (pre-emptive)

JTG51
05-21-2004, 03:52 PM
Interesting. I've met and gotten to know about a dozen 2+2ers. Every one of them has been kind, generous, polite, funny, and a pleasure to spend time with.

Maybe it's you, not poker that brings out the worst in people?

Patrick del Poker Grande
05-21-2004, 04:02 PM
[ QUOTE ]
I play poker for a living, and have met some great people doing it. However, I've met even more people who are just nasty and brutish. Maybe its not that the people who play the game are inherently a-holes, but that the game makes 'em act like so. I'm convinced that poker brings out the worst in people, including myself. Its rare that I ever say an unkind word to another, yet when I'm playing, I can become impatient, intolerant, and mean.