PDA

View Full Version : They are just as bad at 5/10

Guido
05-20-2004, 11:33 AM
Hi all,

I started my poker carreer at 1/2 at Truepoker about a year ago. I lost about 300$ and went to Stars. There I started at 0.05/0.10 and worked my way up to 1/2. I started playing at Party and Paradise too. At Paradise I worked my way up from 0.5/1 to 3/6 very quickly. Because of the better table selection I started a little project about 2.5 months ago at Empire. I worked my way up from 0.5/1 to 2/4 in about 6 weeks, at this level I stayed for a while because it felt comfortable. Then I moved to 3/6 and didn't see much difference at this level as expected because you guys had told me so. About a week ago I got the BR to move up again and since then I've tried 5/10 a few times. I expected to see a lot tougher competion but it's all just the same IMO. The only thing that doesn't work at this level is raising for a free card when you have AKo on a Qxx board for example. So why is 5/10 tougher than the other limits? Or isn't it?

Thanks

Guido

Alobar
05-20-2004, 01:22 PM
I think 5/10 is alot tougher than 3/6. Its the first level jump I've made where I actually notice a difference in the play. 3/6 is just as bad as 2/4. But 5/10 I've noticed a MUCH higher quality of play. There are still a few mororns, but they are the exception it seems. Least thats my opinion after only 2K hands at 5/10

BigEndian
05-20-2004, 01:30 PM
Wait a few weeks before making your assessment. 5/10 on Party is very much different than lower limits in a number of ways. If you use PokerTracker, the numbers should reveal some these differences before too long.

- Jim

Guido
05-20-2004, 01:31 PM
I was expecting a bigger difference. I only see minor improvements and a lot of morons, maybe not that many as at the lower limits but still a lot. What are the big differences you're experiencing? I've played only 3K hands or so but I only played when the tables had big pots on average.

Guido

Ponks