PDA

View Full Version : Flop % at 6 max limit tables?

eggzz
05-15-2004, 03:32 PM
I just started playing $2/4 limit short handed and I really enjoy the fast pace of the game.

It seems that your flop percentage should be higher than a full game, but what is a normal flop percentage?

I've had some short term success and I'm seeing around 45% of the flops. Is this too high? In NL I see around 30% and in full limit I see about 20%.

You definitely can't sit around and wait for premium hands in this game, it seems like you have to be pretty flexible. I have a tendency to be weak tight at times instead of tight aggressive, but it seems like this format makes me play stronger, and I don't see my same weak tight tendencies in this game as opposed to a NL or full table limit game.

I wonder if this is because usually the 6 max tables will showdown between just two people, whereas in the 10 seat tables, you may showdown against two or three others, and you need better hands to win those showdowns. And NL of course is a different animal, you can protect your good hands in that game better. I think I may have found my niche. Any strategy hints that you can also proffer would be helpful to me.

Thx

soda
05-15-2004, 03:43 PM
Proper preflop percentage will depend on the structure of the game and the players in it. Less raising preflop? You can see more flops. Aggressive game? Have to play tighter. A higher blind structure? For example the $15/$30 game at Party is 10/15 blinds vs. the 10/20 which is 5/10 - the higher blind structure requires you to see more flops.

Having said that, you should probably specify the game you are in (site and blind structure) if you'd like a more accurate answer.

FWIW - My numbers at the Party 10/20 game are about 27% flops seen. I don't know if this is in any way correct, though.

soda

eggzz
05-15-2004, 03:53 PM
Good points. I am mainly playing $2/4 at UB.

Usually loose games, not too much preflop raising, maybe 15-20% of the time.

Vagos