PDA

View Full Version : Placing first?

Tapped
05-12-2004, 10:57 AM
A couple of weeks ago I posted the results of my first 50 10+1 sngs on party, 45% in the money and 36% ROI. (no one took those numbers seriously, though, since I mentioned I just started playing poker a week before that).

Now that I've put in another 100 sngs, the results are more credible but a trend is starting to emerge. After 150 I'm still at 45% ITM but down to 27% ROI. Placements are 17/22/29. Definitely seems like I'm having trouble getting first, even though I'm trying to be as aggressive as possible after I make top 3.

In general, what are some of your strategies when it's 3-handed? What do you actually do to 'gamble for 1st settle for 3rd'? I pretty much raise all in with any a/k/high-q/pair, and I avoid the low suited connectors completely.

Thanks.

tolbiny
05-12-2004, 11:41 AM
make sure you notice who is tight, and who is loose in thier blinds- when you get some tighties then just raise almost any 2 and dump to a reraise (unless its small putting them all in, ect.) you will end up dominating them in late stages and by the time they get a hand good enough to double through they will be below 1000 chips and you can keep on going.
if you run into blinds who like to come back at you alot, i occasionally limp and then push allin agains their raise (if i think they are capable of folding).

Phil Van Sexton
05-12-2004, 01:15 PM
With blinds so high, it's difficult to really outplay your opponents. Also, you may have pegged certain players as "tight", but be aware that many players change their strategy completely once they reach the final 3.

You don't need to steal every blind to win...and your oppponents won't let you do that anyway. The winner is often the player who knocks out the 3rd place finisher, so you are going to need win a showdown to win.