PDA

View Full Version : Checking All The Way (With An All-In)

Depraved
05-10-2004, 06:46 PM
I'm a relative beginner in tournament play. I've noticed that a lot of players will check it all the way if a third party has gone all-in (presumably to increase the likelihood of busting the all-in?). I found myself in this exact situation, and didn't know what the "right" thing to do was. I know I've read about this situation in at least one tournament poker book, but I couldn't find the section last night.

I have no idea how stupid or how standard this strategy is, and/or if there are times when you should use it and times when you shouldn't.

Thanks in advance for any guidelines you can provide.

fnord_too
05-10-2004, 07:23 PM
Whether to check all the way depends on a lot of things.

First off, if you have a very strong hand bet regardless. Bet whatever amount you think will make you the most money.

Second, early in the tournament, and by early I mean not in the money and not particularly close, play how you would play if the all in guy was not even in the pot. Knocking someone out has very little value at that point, play to maximize your chances of winning the pot, even if that hurts the chances of knocking the other guy out. Of course, if your oppenent wants to give you free cards when you don't have a made hand, let him /images/graemlins/smile.gif

Third, GENERALLY, if the person going out will increase your expected take home, checking it down is perfectly good (keeping in mind the first rule). If, say, you are one from the money and a short stack, you would need a big hand indeed to not check it down. But if say you just crossed into the money and the next 10 spots pay the same, I'd try to maximize my chances of winning the pot per the second note above.

Finally, in some cases, you want to push everyone but the all in player out, even if you don't have a great chance of winning the hand. Here's an example: