PDA

View Full Version : Missed a bet here?

06-22-2002, 02:33 PM
Hi All.

Im pretty new to Hold'em. Having been playing almost 7 card stud so far, I'm starting to play more and more hold'em, since its more common..

But I must admit, that I have my troubles in the game. Specially on the flop, where I have laid down the best hands a few times, since I get easily scared, when the board looks dangerous. But it is getting better, and Im slowly beginning to build up my hold'em bankroll playing 2/4..

Here is a online 2/4 $ I played last night. My concern is weather I missed a bet or not.....

I raise UTG, with Ace-Queen(queen is a diamond), and the player to my left calls, and so does the button and SB.

All are petty solid players, maybe playing a bit to many drawing hands, before the flop. But other than that, they are pretty solid, and straight ahead players.

The flop comes: 7-ace-2 all diamonds:

I bet out, and the next player folds. Button calls, and sb folds.

The Turn is the 2 of hearts.

Then the button surprise me, by coming out betting! I'm pretty sure he haven't got a monster hand, either a flush, trips/full house, since he would have checkraised the turn. I put him on a ace, weaker than mine, as he is affraid I would check the turn, and he would miss a bet.....

I did't go with my read (one of my big faults I think), and only called him down to the river.

The river was the 3 hearts.....

He turned over Ace-jack, and I took down the pot with my bigger ace.

Any comments?,

Daniel

(ungar)

06-22-2002, 08:07 PM
Your first read should be that he has an ace. His line of play is very consistent with that holding. He is trying to prevent a free card to a hand like KhKd, but didn't want to get into a war on the flop, which likely wouldn't tell him anything. That said, he is likely drawing very nearly dead.