PDA

View Full Version : Cashflows question

bob2007
05-03-2004, 09:25 PM
Hi, I'm new to investing and I've read according to several sources that people say cash flows are more important than earnings, because earnings can be manipulated.

I'm a 2nd year accounting student, and I find have some questions bout that arguement since cashflows can also be manipulated, if anything, possibly even easier.

The increase in debt financing / equity financing increases cashflows during the year. But that is not indicative of an imporving company. In the case wiht cashflows, it also doesn't look at amortization, which is a non cash cost allocation, but doesn't that still have effects on the earnings of the company far down the line?

Ray Zee
05-03-2004, 11:20 PM
exactly . i believe a company is only worth some muliple of its average future earnings plus its hard assets. the rest is blue sky.
the earnings can be manipulated some but not over a period of years. but cash flow is also a good indictor of worth.

adios
05-04-2004, 05:33 AM
[ QUOTE ]
Hi, I'm new to investing and I've read according to several sources that people say cash flows are more important than earnings, because earnings can be manipulated.

[/ QUOTE ]

That's kind of a funny statement isn't it. Not sure what the state of GAAP rules are now (I should know). I believe they've tightened up on rules where companies had a lot of leeway in deferring revenue recognition in order to "smooth out" earnings on a multi quarter basis.

Generally speaking, I think this statement and others like it stem from the fact that often expenses on the income statement are of the non cash variety. For those that aren't adept at understanding them, they may get a different picture of a companys financial position than what really is the case.

[ QUOTE ]
I'm a 2nd year accounting student, and I find have some questions bout that arguement since cashflows can also be manipulated, if anything, possibly even easier.

[/ QUOTE ]