PDA

View Full Version : Please correct my play

teemu_69
05-03-2004, 03:53 PM
Hi everyone, this is my first post in this forum so if any of the formatting or wording is odd please cut me some slack. About two weeks ago I started playing in a $1/$2 NL ring game at an apartment near me. They rake $1 for every $15 in the pot up to $4 max. About half the players are clearly better than me but by playing tight I turned a profit last time I came so I thought I'd return again. Here's the hand that I obviously screwed up:

I have $344 and am currently in MP in a 11 person game.

PRE FLOP: I am dealt 77.
-I figure I'll see the flop and if I don't hit anything I'll fold.
-I don't remember the exact poisition of all the players who called, but there were two limpers before me, I checked, one limper after, the SB calls, BB checks. $10 in the pot.

FLOP: 3-3-3
-I think to myself: "If there is any bet I'm folding, I don't want to run into a pair higher than mine or someone playing a three..."
-Three checks before me, I check, checks good behind me.

TURN: 7 (board - 333/7)
-I think to myself: "There is one card in the deck that is beating me now, and none of these jokers has it. I'll bet at it now and either get a caller from an overpair or win it right here..."
-Three check to me, I bet $10 (the pot), fold behind me, SB calls, everyone else folds. ***The SB has consistently played the tightest pre-flop of anyone at the table. I also think he is better than me, but I also can't imagine him playing any type of 3 given what I've seen so far.***

RIVER: Q (Board - 333/7/Q)
-I think for a second "he has the 3 and I should check if he gives me the chance" but I convince myself that he is so tight he couldn't have the 3, could he? I put him on a pp higher than 77 but lower than QQ-AA because I think he would have raised already if that were the case
-SB checks, I bet $30 (pot again), he asks me to count my stack which I do and he raises $50.