PDA

View Full Version : Kentucky Derby Thoughts...

Big Al
04-30-2004, 01:17 PM
First off, I am not a big horseplayer. They are too tough for me to consistently win over the long haul. That said, this being the Kentucky Derby, these are my thoughts going into it (and yes, I do plan on betting the race). Longshots almost always win here, mainly because there are so many good horses in the race. The two I like are Master David and Castledale. Master David was coming on strong late in the Wood, I like Frankel as a trainer, I am into BDSM so a horse with the name Master I like, and he's ridden by Alex Solis (my name is Alec)...too many coincidences to pass up. I like Castledale because he won the Santa Anita Derby, and being from California I always take a look at the SA Derby winner if he's entered in the Kentucky Derby, although I dont like his start from the 16 hole. I plan on betting Master David to win, have an exacta box on the two also. Thats my thoughts--Big Al.

GOODBEATGUY2001
04-30-2004, 01:55 PM
Include Cliff's Edge and Tapit and you got yourself the trifecta. /images/graemlins/grin.gif

Clarkmeister
04-30-2004, 02:36 PM
I gave the tri-box cold last year, so I hope to repeat that performance.

I like Lion Heart. He's had two brutal trips in a row, and there is a distinct lack of speed in this race. Should he get to the half in 47 and change, he could be long gone. Of course, if it rains all bets are off and see how the track is playing.

Behind him, I like several horses. In order they are Imperialism, Cliff's Edge, Read the Footnotes and Quinton's Gold Rush. Beyond that I can see a whole slew of horses, so I'm going to actually spread less this year, because once you get to a certain point, you can make a case for almost any of these horses hitting the board.

Good luck everyone.

scalf
04-30-2004, 08:04 PM
/images/graemlins/blush.gif ez call this year..

limehouse..pp#1 but moved out from rail due to 2 scratches

limehouse big winner..