PDA

View Full Version : Priceline - Vegas?

BigBaitsim (milo)
04-29-2004, 01:30 PM
Considering Priceline and wondering if anyone has used them for a Vegas stay. I want to take a crack at their top-level "luxury" hotel offerings and wonder if anyone has tried them. I'm skeptical, and especially wary given the need to pay up front.

morgant
04-29-2004, 01:44 PM
i have nothing to offer to you milo, just some more vegas questions. i have never been. and am going to go play in the 1500 nhle event may 12. any nyers know of good airline deals, and where do i stay, complete newbie to all of this. i would like to sleep cheap, and preserve as much money for poker as possible. also is it necessary that i rent a car?

BigBaitsim (milo)
04-29-2004, 02:04 PM
Southwest has some good deals to Vegas, but they sell out fast.

CrackerZack
04-29-2004, 02:37 PM
Fly americawest or jet blue. If you're doing intra-week flights, Jet Blue should be cheap and they set you up with directTV and other goodies.

Southwest is cheap but the travel to philly or islip is a pain. They don't fly out of any NYC airport. Unless you're gonna stay down there, you'll probably want a car. Not sure though as I rarely get downtown when I'm there.

drewjustdrew
04-29-2004, 03:09 PM
If you really are willing to sacrifice time and convenience, you can take a shuttle bus/limo from airport to downtown for $10. Not sure if a city bus stops at airport. There should still be rooms available for cheap at Lady Luck, or Plaza. Don't know if they are good. I am going to stay at 4 queens 12-16th on partial comp, but I think they might be sold out by now. I have stayed there several times and never had issues. It's not the Ritz, but it is passable.

If you plan on playing any lower limit tourneys at Orleans or Mirage, I suggest getting a car. Well worth the $30 a day in comparison to bus waits or cab fares. At least $15 one way to either location from downtown.

Ulysses
04-29-2004, 03:20 PM