PDA

View Full Version : I was close to a WSOP seat when I went insane...thoughts?

nolanfan34
04-26-2004, 01:08 PM
OK, a little preface before the tongue lashings begin.

I'm a relative newbie to these forums, but a student of the game, and always trying to learn. I finally put $50 into Stars this past week for the first time. Mostly have played microlimit and some $5 SNG, made some nice gains in my first week, more than doubling up so far.

SO, yesterday, I decided to give one of the WSOP $2+r turbo sats a try. Short version, survived the satelite and made it into the 11:30 est $33+r one seat guaranteed event. I'm sure others were in this one too.

After making the 2nd break and being down to t2000, I doubled up a couple of times, and watched as the players dwindled down. 1st paid the trip, 2-15th was $650, and 16th was $60. Anyway, I barely limped into the top-15, but was estatic as this was my first real money multi-table tourney, and $650 guaranteed is a pretty big score for me.

This is where I went insane. Since 2nd paid the same as 15th, I started to pretty much push any holding where I thought I would be a coin-flip or better.

Long story short, it worked for a while, as we got down to the final three. After 5 hours of playing (I know, nothing new for the carpal tunnel folks), I don't know how to explain it, but I just kind of lost touch with the gravity of the situation. I mean, I was the chip leader in the final 3, with a WSOP seat on the line!

So, the point of this post. I have gone back and checked my hand history, and have noticed all of the mistakes I made, but want some thoughts on this hand:

PokerStars No-Limit Hold'em Tourney, Big Blind is t20000 (3 handed) converter (http://www.selachian.com/tools/bisonconverter/hhconverter.cgi)

Hero (t397260)
BB (t276844)
Button (t393396)

Preflop: Hero is SB with 2/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, A/images/graemlins/heart.gif.