PDA

View Full Version : Party - at which level you start playing peope, not cards only?

hukilai
04-24-2004, 10:00 AM
Hello, everyone...

I am still a novice in holdem, and currently building up my bankroll at Party's 0.5/1. Doing fine there playing 2-3 tables.

I have a dilemma I which I canot resolve an a rational way, just do not have enough experience I think.

It is generally assumed that micro limit players are loose-passive, and appropriate strategies are applied when playing them. So the my play is pretty mechanical - I evaluate my hand, amount of bets on the table, calculate the odds - and according to those I make my decision. This is what I am calling playing cards.

Because I am acting like this, I am capable of playing more than one table - and therefore I increase my win/hour rate.

I understand, that to fully maximize my winnings and minimize loses I should also to take into the accounts all the personal qualities of other people at the tables - good or bad, loose or tight, aggro or passive, etc - this I call play people. But as a downside you have to pay much more attention to certain tables and as a result, I personally cannot play in this manner on more than one table.

I can guess that on higher level evaluating people is a very important skill which you should have and use.

Also, I understand in the perfect world I need to play both - cards and people - but what about the reality?

Actually I have two questions:

1. So at which level you carefully evaluate all the players before you play against them - from the very beginning, 0.5/1 or later, on, say, 2/4 or 5/10?

2. At what levels it will become more profitable to play one table carefully than 3-4 ones sort of mechanically?

Regards,
hukilai

Tosh
04-24-2004, 10:23 AM