PDA

View Full Version : PLO Hand

aces_full
04-23-2004, 11:09 AM
I want to learn to beat PLO without going broke so I started playing .01/.02 $5 buy-in PLO at Poker Stars.

I had about $7.50, second biggest stack had about $4, the rest of the players at the full 9 player table had on average $2 or less in front of them.

The hand in question I'm on the BB with KKTx, no suits. I'm not very impressed having to act in EP on later rounds with this, but figure if I don't flop a big blind special I'm going to fold.

Seven players see the flop ($.14 POT) 9K3 rainbow. I have top set with no real threatining draws. SB checks, I bet $.14 (pot) UTG calls, UTG +1 calls. UTG+2 (the 2nd biggest stack raises to $.56. A small stack in MP calls $.56 the rest fold to me. I have the boss hand and re-raise $1.68. This knocks out UTG and UTG +1. The other guy moves all-in, MP calls all-in. I call his remaining $3 and change bet, leaving me on the flop with two players all-in. The turn and river are both aces giving me kings full of aces, but I still don't have a good feeling with two other players all in.

The guy who was giving me all the action turned over A993 for aces full of nines as I watched all the chips slide away from me. Don't know what the other all in player had.

My question is did I play this correctly or was this another case of bad luck? In hold'em I know that set of kings would be boss, and pushing here would be a no-brainer, but since this is an Omaha hand, my only re-draws were to a full house or quads. Well I hit my full, but it certainly turned out to not be the nuts. To add insult to injury, the guy left the table with my money right after that hand.

BlackAces
04-23-2004, 11:27 AM
You got it all in on the flop with the best hand, and no outstanding draws against you (the best draw someone could have would be QJTx, for nine outs). How can you question that?