PDA

View Full Version : No limit cash game

ansky451
04-23-2004, 12:22 AM
Most of the poker I play, is a HE no limit cash game, 40 dollar buy in, 2/4 blinds. I've tried to do some reading on the game to get better, but all i can find about cash games, is for limit poker, and all i can find for no limit, is tourney poker, is there any literature that i can read to improve my game? /images/graemlins/confused.gif

DcifrThs
04-23-2004, 12:29 AM
supersystem by doyle brunson.

but 2/4 $40 buy in is nothing. you need to be playing with a bit deeper stacks than that.

what is the normal buy in for that game?

what do YOU buy in for?

i would buy in for $500 at least. 125 bb's. then its kinda a nl game.

-Barron

ansky451
04-23-2004, 12:48 AM
I see your point, but im a college student, so im not exactly a high stakes poker player (not yet), and most buy in for 40-100 bucks, so im really not sure if SS concepts apply completely.

DcifrThs
04-23-2004, 12:52 AM
well then my friend there are two types of poker you can play:

1) pick good spots and try to get it all in preflop and flop. this will be high variance and good judgement is required.

2) limp alot from late position and make bets when you have it against a loose field on the flop.

3) bet big in late position preflop and follow up if checked to post flop based on reads.

WATCH ALL PLAYERS EVERY TIME THEY DO ANYTHING!! this will give you the necessary info to play as instructed above. clearly i'm not a great nl player but its a start. sorry if it confuses you or if im an idiot.

-Barron

luqui
04-23-2004, 03:30 AM
Ugh. I'd never play a $2/$4 NL game with a $40 stack (Well, considering my skill, I wouldn't play a $2/$4 NL game at all, lookin to fix that though). But still, $0.25/$0.50 is the biggest I'd play with that kind of bank. Find yourself some more money or a different game, or suggest different stakes.

ansky451
04-23-2004, 07:36 AM
Why is 2/4 too high for 40?

Eihli
04-23-2004, 09:24 AM