PDA

View Full Version : Trouble finishing multi-table tournaments

HighRolla81
04-21-2004, 08:45 PM
I have been playing multi-table tournaments for a few months now, and have been improving almost every time i play. The problem I have been experiencing is winning when the number of players really trims down. For example, a few weeks ago i played in a tournament of over 2700 players, and for the first two hours of the tournament i was ranked in the top 5 in chips. However, I ended up finishing in 90th place, despite good play most of the day. Another tournament, I finished 15th out of 160, but just couldnt seem to place in the money (out by just five spots). In the time before I got knocked out I had about the average stack for the players remaining, yet both times I was unable to make good plays down the stretch. I came across a few real bad beats, but I wouldnt say that was my ultimate downfall.

Does anyone have any suggestions when the field narrows, or what their strategies are when the field begins to get tight. Its been really frustrating so far, and I believe I have played well enough to at least place in both tournaments. I understand that your strategy should change as the tournament progresses, but I am not sure exactly how. Please help. Thanks in advance.

FletchJr.
04-22-2004, 12:58 AM