PDA

View Full Version : Poker etiquette

Jive Dadson
04-20-2004, 04:53 PM
What, if anything, can we do about deplorable deportment at the poker table?

I've been playing in the card rooms around San Jose CA since 1984. I have watched a steady decline in the behavior of players, beginning the day the first oval table was carted onto the floor.

When the players sat at a round table and dealt the cards themselves, new players went through an educational initiation into "the club." They had to learn not only how to shuffle and deal legally, but also how to act in general. If a player acted out of turn, commented the game during the play of the hand, or otherwise behaved inappropriately, someone at the table would correct him. If the new player was unrepentant, four or five players would all chime in, politely explaining the what and why. The neophyte usually came around in short order, and soon he was "one of the boys."

Today, if a player takes another to task, the frequent result is a nasty confrontation. Players look to the dealer as an arbiter, which is not fair to the players or to the dealer. It's not fair to the players, because the dealer frequently makes the wrong call. It's not fair to the dealer, because he works for tips, and understandably does not wish to alienate any player. When one player calls the floorman to admonish another player, it's even worse. The offending player thinks, "Who is this jerk to call the police on me? Who does he think he is?"