PDA

View Full Version : Flamingo Trip Report

sjb2040
04-20-2004, 03:44 PM
This was my first trip to Vegas since I started playing poker. I play online and do pretty well and I win an average of $100 off of the weekly home game I play in. So I was curious to see how well I could do in a real card game. Strangely enough, I'll have to wait until next time to see. I cant expect this to happen again.
I stayed at the Flamingo and sat down at the 2-4 table to get my feet wet. As I expected there were lots of callers and you usually had to have the nuts to win. After half an hour I was up about $20. Then I get dealt KQh in the big blind. Flop was ThJh7c so I had an open ended str8 flush draw. Made it on the turn with the ace. I bet and three people called. River was the 9 of hearts. I bet again and 2 people called. Turned the hand over and the dealer says "Straight flush king high". I argue the call, and he looks again and admits that I actually do have a six card str8 flush to the Ace which is technically a royal flush. Someone else hit a royal half an hour later using only one of his hole cards so we ended up splitting the high hand jackpot for the day.