PDA

View Full Version : Omaha High limit starting hand questions

flytrap
04-18-2004, 03:21 PM
I'm fairly new to Omaha High limit, and play in a wild, loose game where 50% of the players play 90% of the hands. I think I'm playing too loose by playing 3 big cards with a suited off card, or big pairs like kings and queens with trash side cards. Which starting hands can be profitably played? Any advice would be much appreciated.

Iceman
04-18-2004, 03:59 PM
[ QUOTE ]
I'm fairly new to Omaha High limit, and play in a wild, loose game where 50% of the players play 90% of the hands. I think I'm playing too loose by playing 3 big cards with a suited off card, or big pairs like kings and queens with trash side cards. Which starting hands can be profitably played? Any advice would be much appreciated.

[/ QUOTE ]

High pairs and high straight runs (four unpaired cards nine and higher), in either case preferably with a suited ace, are the key hands in loose limit Omaha high. Three big cards and a trash card is only playable when it includes a suited ace. KQJ2 is MUCH weaker than KQJT. AA, KK, and QQ with nothing else are playable, but they're not very strong, so don't go overboard preflop with them. Medium-sized hands like 8765 double suited or A987 double suited are sometimes profitable in pot-limit, but in limit they're trash.

Rolf Slotboom
04-18-2004, 09:22 PM