PDA

View Full Version : What to do when you're having an awfully bad run

Hung
04-13-2004, 04:52 AM
I've had the worst week ever. I don't know how to explain this. I think I'm cursed. I've lost 6 sessions in a row. Maybe I got too lucky for a long time. I do not have years of experience, I've been playing since December 2002, that's not even 1,5 year. It's normal to have ups and downs. Those are the normal swings. As long as you don't lose at the end of the road. This month is going to be tough for me, really tough. With 6 losing session, I'm down to more then 3K. Every time I sit down and I play I lose about 500 in no time, not even one hour playing. I do not do anything crazy, I play my hands strong. I got KK 3 times, won one time (small) and lost two times big. One time AA against 4 players all in preflop. I lost, wich is normal, too many players. UTG raised, middle positon, moves all in $70, I raise my all in $150. Get another caller with $9Ts and he wins the pot with a straight. These things don't bother me, but it happens too much the last few days. I don't know how to handle it. I stop after these big losses. So I can't tilt. I take a good rest and when I start again, it's the same sh*t again. Should I take a long break? I don't think a break will help, because poker is about winning at the end, right? I'm afraid I'll have my first losing month.

It's like I'm cursed. I get so many big hands in short time. KK, AA, AK. Party has put me on losing mode. Is it time to switch to the (also) cursed stars?

MicroBob
04-13-2004, 05:12 AM
perhaps time to step down in levels for a spell.

i had been winning for 3-4 months....i think i had around 11 winning sessions in a row up until a couple of weeks ago.

now i have gone on a losing streak of about a week-and-a-half (my ptracker numbers for April are frightening).
took a weekend to play some small-money stars multi's for fun to give my mind and ego a break (even won a $3 re-buy satellite thing for $215 tourney-bucks).