PDA

View Full Version : How much money can be made?

theronin1
04-12-2004, 04:14 AM
Hello,

I've been playing play money hold em poker online for a month. I also bought a book called Gary Carson's complete Guide to Hold Em Poker.

I feel I am grasping poker concepts fairly well, and I wanted to know if it's relatively easy to make money with low stakes online poker.

I'm a university student, and instead of getting some lousy part time job, I'd like to take some courses and enjoy myself - using poker as my main source of income. I already teach some children a few hours a week. But I don't want some 20 hr a week job I'm not going to like.

Your thoughts?

thanks

Homer
04-12-2004, 01:46 PM
You can make some decent money playing multiple tables of low-limit poker online (try Party Poker). In a live game, you get in about 35 hands/hour and an expert can make ~1 BB/hr. In an online game, you get in about 70 hands/hour/table and thus can expect to make at least 2 BB/hr/table and in actuality closer to 3 BB/hr/table since the rake is lower (5% to $3 instead of 10% to $4) and you don't have to tip. In games from .5/1 through 2/4, you can easily play ABC poker at 2-3 tables, thus making up to 9 BB/hr if you are an expert. I personally play 3 tables of 2/4 and make 2.5 BB/hr/table, so I make around $30/hr. If you are new to poker, you should start out more slowly (try 1 table of .5/1, then 2 tables, then 3 tables, then 1 table of 1/2, then 2....) and work your way up.

-- Good luck, Homer

JTrout
04-12-2004, 06:00 PM
What Homer said. And don't forget to get the bonuses! They will give you a nice edge in the beginning.

lostinthought
04-13-2004, 01:18 PM
A few thoughts