PDA

View Full Version : 100+9 SnG Heads Up Probs, Help Please!!!

Carson
04-09-2004, 11:28 PM
Been on a great run lately (4 me at least).
I hate to get greedy, but I am in a rut of second place finishes.
I now play only 100+9 NL Holdem SnG's at Party.
Have experience in hundreds and hundreds of 30+3 and 50+5 tourneys but I am fairly new to the 100+9's, probably still less than 100 to take experience from.
However, my last 10 finishes are 2223222512.
9 out of 10 in the money and I am smiling!!!!
However I feel like I have not profited the way I should as in 4 of those 7 second place finishes I was at one time at least 6500-3500 chip leader each time.
My problem has been the heads up play/draw?
When the blinds are at 400-800 and I am in chip lead, I usually like to go all in with any 2 face cards or pocket pairs larger than 7's.
Maybe this is my first problem, but it seems like when I get a decent heads up hand, say Ax(little) suited, and I make a decent sized raise players see it as weakness and go all in themselves then I call and they have K9 or something and beat me with a pair of 9's.
I know there are going to be some badbeats heads up, i.e. I had JT against T4 in my last tourney and with myself at 3400 and my opponent at 6600 going into the hand, we both flop a T but he rivers a 4.

I know this is a bit of rambling and I don't have a few great situational questions, but I am trying to say is.....
What are some good strategies to use heads up? When your not the chip leader? When you are the chip leader?

Do you go all in preflop with any A?
Do you go all in preflop with any 2 face cards?

Also when you get down to 3 players and their is one super aggressive player who goes all in everytime it isn't his/her big blind, what can you do to make a stand when you can't draw a card above a T? Would you call an allin every hand player down with connectors?

Any examples/suggestions/help would be greatly appreciated...

I will say this...