PDA

View Full Version : QQ small blind

JGalt
04-07-2004, 04:04 PM
I am a new member and would like to thank all members and moderators of this site for the exceptional format and information here.

I would first like to give a little backround on me. I've been playing for about five years and have begun to be more serious about my game. I play mainly 1 table tourneys and am doing fairly well. I have confidence in my game but everone once in awhile a situation will pop up that I just have to question my play. So here it is.

Playing PP 55 table/table is a mix of loose and tight.
Blinds are 100-200 and 8 players left.

I'm in the small blind with a stack of T1000 chips. I'm dealt QQ, 5 callers, no raises and comes back to me. I call, BB checks. Flop ends up 323 rainbow. I bet, BB raises, next player T300 left re-raises, rest fold, I call. To make it short I play to the end and lose to BB trip 3's.

My question is should I have raised pre-flop. With seven players my thought is to play safe, but if I raise BB with 10,3o I'm sure they would have folded. I've already condemned myself for playing to the end, but if you would like to comment on that as well, I would be grateful.

Thanks

nothumb
04-07-2004, 04:27 PM
You say that you were tempted to 'play safe' with QQ from the small blind. The 'safe' play with QQ is to make a decent raise and clear out the field a little bit. While it's possible you wouldn't have knocked out the guy who caught his three in this case, in the long run you will punish people who play 10-3 offsuit against your ladies.

Reverend
04-07-2004, 04:29 PM