PDA

View Full Version : Bottom two pair

durron597
04-07-2004, 07:11 AM
I'm relatively new to poker, and I've been trying to feel out my instincts so that when I start reading stuff (now) I would know where my leaks are. Anyway, I've had two bad beats with bottom two pair recently, and I'd like a comment on whether I played them wrong (both local games amongst friends).

Hand 1) I'm SB, with 4 players left. I have about T200. BB has about T500-600, and the button has about T150. Blinds at the moment are 5/10. (Our blinds are too small, I know, but bear with me).

As far as reads go, the BB has seriously had the cards tonight for his Top Stack, but he tends to bet his hand relatively accurately, though he has been known to bluff. However, he almost never raises unless he has a hand, and NEVER reraises, but calls when his hand is weaker than he should be calling with. The button is a pretty loose player, calling big bets with overcards.

Anyway, in this situation, CO folds (that's why I didn't mention him), BB limps in. I have 87o, and decide to defend my blinds since I expect to not be reraised (even vs. AA) and they're wired - which I am not. Flop is A87rb.

I look at both players and read the button as having paired one Ace but not rockets, and I decide to push all-in. BB folds, button calls and turns over ATo. The turn is of course a T, see ya.

I'm trying to figure out what I did wrong... was this just a bad suckout, or should I have not bothered to defend my blind? Should I have bet ~50? I feel like I would have called a reraise, though I don't think he would have pushed all-in.

Hand 2) I'm playing $20 buyin table stakes with no blind raising, and I get 64s. SB again, $.25/$.50 blinds, and my stack at the moment is well over $100. BB raises to $1, other players all fold; and I call since it's such a trivial part of my stack and I'm suited and almost wired.