PDA

View Full Version : New player needs some advice

null
04-07-2004, 02:38 AM
I'm not sure if this is the right forum for this post, but here goes. I recently started playing hold'em for cash online. Previously I've played it a few times with friends. Since I didn't want to start out totally unprepared, first I read about starting hands, and played some play money games on yahoo. I quickly realized I wasn't learning much playing with play money, since players don't care if they lose it. After reading some posts at this another forum and on this forum, I decided to sign up for Partypoker. The first few days I did fairly well, at least for a new player. I was playing almost exclusively .5/1 limit hold'em games. I played enough hands to unlock my signup bonus, and at one point I was up close to $50.

After playing a few $5 buyin no limit single-table tournaments and doing ok, I decided to try $25 buyin no limit. Here's where things went wrong. As of now I'm down close to $150...but I don't want to give up. Being down this much is killing me, since I know the Party is supposedly full of fish, and I know I'm not as stupid as many of the players I've seen (I'm not sure if I'm allowed to use the term "fish" after being down so much /images/graemlins/smile.gif ). I hate being a sucker, and I think some of my poor play is a result of me chasing my losses. I just wish I'd stayed away from $25 buyin NL. I was operating with a $100 bankroll, which was probably not enough to begin with, and I really should have read more about NL hold'em.

I realize that right now I don't know much about hold'em, but I'm trying to educate myself. I've been reading Theory of Poker (got it out of a library), and I ordered Winning Low Limit Hold'em - it should be here soon. And like I said, I've also checked out some stuff online, including a page on starting hands, flopturnriver.com, and of course this site. Any links you have to good strategy sites would be great.