PDA

View Full Version : Bad Start at $5 NL - Please Advise

monkey_love
04-06-2004, 08:22 PM
Bad Start at $5 NL - Please Advise

I've just gotten started playing for real money and according to Poker Tracker I'm down $1.71 after 363 hands (it's actually about 10 percent worse since the 200 hand limit at Poker Stars prevented me from importing all of my hands). I know that the dollar amount and the sample size are both small but it's still a discouraging start. As a beginner, I am confident that there are significant leaks in my game and I'm hoping that someone will be able to identify some of them.

I was playing $5 NL at PokerStars (.01/.02 blinds). I tried to join 8 handed tables with average pot size closer to .50 (usually looked to be around .75) and % seeing flop above 50% (usually started at over 50% but sank to 30s after playing for a while).

I am not sure what the most signficant Poker Tracker numbers are but here are the basics:

Vol. Put $ in the Pot 20.66
Vol. Put $ in from SB 50.00
Saw Flop All Hands 29.20
Saw Flop Not a Blind 17.56
Won $ WSF % 15.09
Went to SD % 20.75
Won $ at SD 50.00
PF Raise % 0.28
Aggression Factor 0.18
Folded to River Bet 52.38 (11 of 21)

The BisonBison hand converter doesn't seem to support NL ring games at Poker Stars yet so please bear with me for some sample hands (results in white when available).

Hand 1

3 folds, I call .02 with 9d 9s, 2 more folds, SB calls, BB checks
*** FLOP *** [6d Qh Kd]
blinds check, I bet .04, SB folds, BB calls
*** TURN *** [6d Qh Kd] [Qc]
BB checks, I bet .08, BB raises to .20, I call
*** RIVER *** [6d Qh Kd Qc] [2d]
BB bets .10, I call

<font color="white"> </font>

Hand 2

UTG calls, MP1 calls, I call from LP with 4h 4s, SB calls, BB checks
*** FLOP *** [4d Ts Js]
blinds check, UTG bets .12, MP1 folds, I call, blinds fold
*** TURN *** [4d Ts Js] [2d]
UTG bets .20, I call
*** RIVER *** [4d Ts Js 2d] [6h]
UTG bets 1.40 (all in), I fold

UTG doesn't show hand.

Hand 3