PDA

View Full Version : Newb getting hammered here - help

Mors
04-06-2004, 08:46 AM
Hi, this is my first post so be gentle.
I'm a newb to online poker, but have played poker on and off for years. I've been playing online a couple of hours a day for a few months now. After losing all my money for the first month, I corrected my errors and started to fill up my account, but here's my two problems:

1. I seem to 'streak' - I will place/win for about 5/6 tournys in a row, BUT, then I will lose 8 or 9 on the trot! And not from what I'd call playing badly either.

2. I have just finished 4th three times in a row, by pushing my small stack in against a medium stack, preflop. I had the following hands and got beat with the following hands:
ME J10s beat by AA
ME KK beat by AA
Me JJ beat by AA

I being serious here, I'm not joking. I have pushed in 3 times in 4th place against a medium stack (I was under the gun) and been whipped 3 times and come up against AA THREE times in a row- I'm losing the will to live!

Now, after looking at these results long and hard, I've decided I'm getting beat because I'm a crap player. If I was a good player, I wouldn't be losing here, or getting these pathetic streaks. I need to start being more consistant.

My playing style is fairly tight straight off, gradually loosening up to very lose at the end (last 3). At the start I will only play monster hands, unless I get a cheap call on the button etc, then I'll play offsuit picture cards and suited connectors. Towards the end, I'll play virtually anything with a King or Ace, and most things suited or semi connected - if I can get a look in cheap enough.
I'll also play most pairs if its cheap to get in.