PDA

View Full Version : AK play

Ben
04-05-2004, 05:23 PM
I play $10 Party SNGs.

I've read previously that AK is a good hand to get all-in on pre-flop. I've been pushing in after being raised and have been getting killed by PPs.

My new strategy is to raise about 3x BB if limped to. If raised to, I'm thinking about folding it unless the raise is small.

How does that sound?

LetsRock
04-05-2004, 05:54 PM
Are you familliar with the gap concept? I'm not an expert on the subject, but basically (as I understand it) the theory is that it takes a better hand to call a raise than it does to make a raise.

There is a big difference between opening by shoving your stack and re-raising with your stack. AK is a much better open raiser than it is a calling a raise hand.

There's a lot of conditions that must be considered (especially in tournament play) - it's rarely a black or white move.

What does the raiser raise with? If he only raises with big PP, then you are a little behind. If he has really loose raising standards, then it might be correct to test him.

How big are our stacks? Does he have me covered? By a lot? Is his tournament threatened by calling me?

Is he a loose canon? Will he buckle and fold? Will he call with anything?

Can I make into the money without making this move? Will I bust out if I lose this hand? Can I afford to wait for a better opportunity?

AK is not always a great all or nothing hand, especially if the pot has already been raised. I'm not saying to cold call or fold every time, but you need to consider all of the conditions before making your decision.

Edge34
04-05-2004, 05:57 PM
Hey Ben,