PDA

View Full Version : Slide Charlie Brown

naphand
04-04-2004, 04:49 PM
OK I am asking the regulars (or anyone for that matter) to help me get my head sorted.

At the moment I am in the middle of a horrible slide. After absolutely caning PokerStars $1/$2 for 2 months since I started playing there things have gone seriously awry and my head is turning into some kind of toxic sludge.

When I played Party $1/$2 I was winning about 75% of my sessions and making around 2.5 BB/hr. I figured I should be making more, but this may have been more to do with the general passivity of those games. I switched to PokerStars $1/$2 in the search of stronger games where I could sharpen up. For 2 months I hit them very hard, I had 1 or 2 good streaks, plus some incomprehensibly bad ones. Overall it was mostly just average cards (this last week I had one glorious day when I hit a lot of flops hard with hands like AK, AQ, AJ and my pairs were holding up very well).

My session wins over this time were around 87% and 4-5 BB/hr. Running good, maybe, but I don't think so, the figures are dead on average for the types of games and the stats that, I think, are generally accepted as right on the forum (PF raising 14%, V$IP 20-22, Won$ when saw flop 37%, Won @ SD 51%, average pot sizes). Nothing remarkable. The games are much more aggressive than Party with a lot more LAG players and some crazies mixed in. It is possible to get payed off big time against a lot of these players. Very few decent players, some very tight players, mostly nuts and losers.

I was pleased. I had a few bad days, but my play was generally OK even then. And I also have managed not to get so steamed when I hit poor cards.