PDA

View Full Version : What Was I Thinking??

DerFleischmeister
03-31-2004, 05:58 PM
Here's the setup: A home game, .25/.50 fixed limit, with a kill. It was a seven-handed game this week. Normally, this is not too wild of a game, but it is a relatively tough one, especially for such low limits. A great game to learn in, (and I am still learning the game at this point) as you face relatively tough competition without breaking the bank if you get wasted.

There were two new players in the game this week, both of whom could only be described as maniacal. A third regular player, a LAP (non-maniacal) and very good player (he had recently went up Northeast and busted a top professional out of a NL tournament), was right in the fray with them. The host, a fairly tough TAP, was also taking part in a good bit of the fray this night. I was waiting patiently for my hands, getting absolutely no respect for what little fast play I did make, and was up about 50 BB in 3 hours. The good LAP and the TAP occupied the two seats immediately to my right, in order (LAP, TAP, me)

Anyway, on to the hand. It was a kill pot, and the LAP had killed it. I get dealt 6 /images/graemlins/spade.gif 6 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif in the CO. UTG folds, LAP raises (as he had done in almost every kill pot that night), TAP reraises, I actually cold-call 3 (not my normal move, but one I felt was applicable, given the table dynamics), button, blinds all fold, LAP and TAP just call.

Flop comes 2 /images/graemlins/heart.gif 3 /images/graemlins/heart.gif 5 /images/graemlins/heart.gif. LAP bets, TAP calls, I call.

Here's where it gets real ugly. Turn: 6 /images/graemlins/heart.gif.

LAP bets, TAP raises, I reraise (!), LAP caps, TAP calls, I FOLD. (somebody shoot me now!)

River: 5 /images/graemlins/club.gif