PDA

View Full Version : Outdrawn

iash
03-31-2004, 02:42 PM
Greetings all, relative newbie here..

I play on pokerstars and usually play 1/2 rooms. I find myself FREQUENTLY getting outdrawn, usually on the turn but sometimes on the river as well. I don't play garbage hands.

For example, if i have made top pair with a decent kicker I'll usually make what I think is a decent post-flop bet (anywhere from $3-$5, depending on the size of the pot.) I may also make a similar bet on the turn. Am i allowing poorer players to chase by not betting higher? Should I welcome this?

I realize there are many unknown factors in these situations, but any advice? I feel like this may be a flawed aspect of my game.

Thanks

eee
03-31-2004, 02:55 PM
You need to look less at the cards and more at the players. Are they drawing against you because they are loose or are they setting you up knowing you pay off. Are their draws strong? If so that is how it goes. If not do they think they can out play you? Are you a consistent player. If so you should play limit not no limit,

e

jdl22
03-31-2004, 02:58 PM
Welcome to the forums. It seems there are lots of newbies these days which is great. Hope you lot stick around.

It is generally good to bet or raise the pot. If you find that people are calling down too much raise more than the pot. If this is happening you welcome these calls as it's theoretical money in your pocket.

If you are betting $3-5 into pots over $10 that is a pretty big mistake. As I said earlier bet the pot or more. That means you will be betting a lot more on the turn and river than you did on the flop. Especially if the stacks are deep you could be giving them odds to chase.

Hope this helps.

ohkanada
03-31-2004, 05:24 PM
I think you need to give examples. In general betting the pot or close to is correct when have decided to bet. There are reasons for betting more and maybe even less, but don't make limit type bets that give your opponents big odds to outdraw you.