PDA

View Full Version : Gus Hansen

Sheriff Fatman
03-31-2004, 09:28 AM
Having finally got used to the difference in style from Late Night Poker to WPT I invested in the Series 1 WPT box-set and have been thoroughly enjoying them.

Having now seen Gus Hansen win 2 events I'm intrigued by his style of play. I'm still a newbie (~7 months since taking up the game) but I've done a lot of poker reading in that time.

Its seems reasonable to assume from my reading that Stu Ungar would be very high, if not top of, a 'best of all time' ranking. However, its unlikely that I'll ever see any footage of him playing.

My question for those 'in the know' is whether Hansen's ultra-aggressive play is in any way reminiscent of Ungar's, who I've seen described as 'maniacal' on several occasions. When done well its absolutely devastating (and brilliant to watch) but I can't imagine there being many players who can play like this successfully. How do the two compare? Was Ungar even wilder than this (although I suppose its difficult to know without the aid of table cameras in Ungar's case).

I'm just intrigued to build a picture of Ungar's play in my mind and Hansen seems to be an obvious reference point.

Thanks

Sheriff

PS: I'm referring to Hansen as he's the obvious choice from my viewing of WPT. I'm sure there are a few other great pro's out there who adopt a similar style - I just haven't seen them yet!

Rushmore
03-31-2004, 09:50 AM
[ QUOTE ]
Its seems reasonable to assume from my reading that Stu Ungar would be very high, if not top of, a 'best of all time' ranking. However, its unlikely that I'll ever see any footage of him playing.

[/ QUOTE ]

WSOP, whatever year they played the thing out on Fremont Street (what a fiasco). Plenty of footage.

All indications are that Unger had the better game, when it was his A-game.

Sheriff Fatman
03-31-2004, 09:58 AM
[ QUOTE ]
WSOP, whatever year they played the thing out on Fremont Street (what a fiasco). Plenty of footage.

[/ QUOTE ]