PDA

View Full Version : Agreesive play or foolish play??

04-17-2002, 04:14 PM
I am a big time newbie in search of guidance.

1/2 PP, on the button, been folding every hand it feels like. Holding JTo. 5-6 limpers, I limp, small blind raises, everyone calls, including me. Flop 298 rainbow, now we are talking. SB bets, 3 callers, I raise, SB reraises, I call and one other player calls. K on the turn, SB bets, we call. River - 7!, SB checks, I bet, he calls, other guys folds, I win.

Was my raise on the flop unwarranted?

Should I have raised him again on the turn?

Thanks!

The newbie

04-17-2002, 04:31 PM
against most PP players at 1/2 your raise on the flop is fine. most of the time he will just call and check to you on the turn, this way you see the river card for 2sb on the flop instead of 1sb on the flop and 2 on the turn. also if you hit your card on the turn you can then bet and have succeded in building a bigger pot.

if this guy is aggressive (as this guy seemed to be)then dont raise the flop. just call and wait for the cards. there is no reason to raise this turn... a sb preflop raise usually means AA or KK and he isnt going anywhere.

personally i wouldn't play this hand preflop either, with this many people in basically two pair or a str8 are you outs to win. let it go, even with position it wont win for ou in the long term (however this is a perfect situation to play jts)

jsut mho (mostly from hfapp)

04-17-2002, 04:49 PM
Your raise allowed the SB to reraise which knocked out 2 players that may have paid off your straight when the bets are worth more. Your lucky it didn't get you heads up with him. If that had happened you would be going to the river with a hand your only going to complete 1 out of 3 times. If he has a pair or better, he is creaming you on the turn. On the turn there are 46 unknown cards and 8 make your straight. You don't want to raise him when you are a 6 to 1 dog.

04-17-2002, 06:00 PM